iarot.blogg.se

Minolta autocord cds iii for sale
Minolta autocord cds iii for sale







It’s kind of a vague thing to say, but the controls just “make sense” – or at least, they do to me. With no prior experience of using a TLR, I was prepared for all manner of difficulties, but it turned out that the Autocord is surprisingly easy to get used to. And to me, the experience of using a camera is just as important as the pictures. I’m not a professional, just someone who takes photos for fun. …better optics, easier focusing, and a more logical control layout than any other TLR. I don’t know if the Autocord is “better” or “worse” than a Rolleiflex, but I do know that even a “low end” Rolleiflex was outside my budget, while my Autocord – purchased off eBay, fully functional and in decent condition – was much more affordable. Just “borderline cult”.īut I have no complaints it keeps the prices down. This is peak Minolta – not famous enough to be in the Rolleiflex/Nikon class not rare enough to be a cult camera. A 1995 issue of Popular Photography included the Autocord in a list of “borderline cult cameras”. Funnily enough, the Minolta Autocord shares a similar fate, living as it does in the shadow of the Rolleiflex. I happen to think that compared to more famous brands like Nikon and Canon, Minolta’s 35mm SLRs and lenses were (and still are) underrated and underpriced – and I’ve always been partial to underdogs and good bargains. My first “real” camera was my father’s Minolta SLR, still in regular use. Meanwhile on the topic of disclosures, I also admit to a bit of a Minolta bias. Dante Stella, Mike Eckman, Casual Photophile, Tobias Key – praise the Autocord’s handling, design and build quality, reserving special plaudits for the Rokkor lens (which I’ll come to a bit later). While I may one day add a high end Rolleiflex to my collection, … the Autocord does everything the Rollei does, and does it for a fraction of the price.įull disclosure: I’ve only shot one roll of film with my Autocord so far, so I’m not qualified to write a proper review. And I don’t mind shooting without a meter – sometimes I use a phone app, sometimes I just guess.Īdvertisements: Popular Photography 1956 (left) and 1957 (right) showing both meterless and metered versions The Autocord and other TLRs It does not have a light meter, but I personally prefer the meterless Autocord variants (mainly for aesthetic reasons I’m shallow like that). My model is an Autocord I, manufactured in 1965. All variants share some common features including a superb taking lens – a Rokkor 75mm f/3.5 with four elements in three groups (Tessar-type). Other differences are relatively minor, like cosmetic changes to the nameplate or slightly different shutter speed sequences. Probably the most significant variation is that the L and CDS models have a light meter (selenium for the Ls, CdS for the CDSs).

minolta autocord cds iii for sale

Some take 120 film only while others take both 120 and 220.

minolta autocord cds iii for sale

Produced from 1955–66, the Autocord came in a number of variants. The Minolta Autocord is a fully-mechanical twin-lens reflex camera which takes 6×6 photos on medium-format film. Chiyoda aimed for the fences with their new camera … and hit it out of the park.









Minolta autocord cds iii for sale